DIY Strat – The Return of the Legend Part 3: Subconscious Influences from 1988

I’ve just been looking through my collection of guitar books and found the one from which I learnt to play. I haven’t look inside its covers for probably 15 years, but I can still remember the layout, text, illustrations and music on every page. Usborne Music Guides: Learn to Play Guitar only boasts 64 pages, but I must have spent countless hours absorbing every detail in that book.

And some of it must have stuck: the front cover shows almost exactly the guitar I have chosen to make the Legend into…

Usborne Music Guides: Learn to Play Guitar

A blue strat with rosewood fretboard and white scratchplate – the PAF style bridge humbucker is, obviously, an afterthought. Strangely, the cover also shows an almost exact replica of the EKO Ranger acoustic, borrowed off my cousin, which I learnt to play on.

Continue to Part 4

One Response to “DIY Strat – The Return of the Legend Part 3: Subconscious Influences from 1988”

  1. Awesome. I love restoring stuff, especially guitars 🙂

    Influenced by books – the cover off the range of Jody Fisher jazz guitars features a red strat and a blonde f-hole guitar: both have been through my hands now!

    I’m currently getting a replacement body made for my 62 reissue tele in lake placid blue, check out how many different types there are! The old one’s were made from either transparent blue lacquer over an inca silver base or an old spray colour used for cadillacs 🙂 when I thought about doing the spraying myself:

    http://www.manchesterguitartech.co.uk/finish.html

    Good luck on getting your old guitar working – I obliterated my second electric guitar and my first is up in the loft 🙂

Leave a Reply

